Canvas Information and Resources

Limit Privileges to Section

How to set privileges so TAs can grade students only in their assigned sections

When a TA is enrolled to a course/section, the default privilege allows them to grade students in All sections.

In courses that have multiple sections, instructors can adjust the privileges so TA’s can only see/grade students in their assigned section(s).

To enroll a TA into one section, and set limited section grading privileges at the same time:

  1. In your course, go to People
  2. Click +People
  3. Enter the ENAME of your TA
  4. In the ROLE, from the dropdown, select TA
  5. In the SECTION, from the dropdown, select the appropriate section
  6. Scroll down to the check box beneath Section, Check the box for “Can grade students in their section only”
  7. Click Next > Add Users > Done

To change privileges for a TA who is already enrolled:

  1. In your course, go to People
  2. Click on the TA’s name
  3. Click on “more user details”
  4. Under “Privileges”, click the green link for “limit this user to only see fellow section users”
    • This privilege can be toggled back and forth.

To verify privilege settings:

  1. In your course, go to People
  2. Click on the TA’s name
  3. Click on “more user details”
  4. View “Privileges”.
  5. The active privilege is shown in black: “this user can only view students in their assigned course section(s)”
  6. Clicking the green link will change the privilege to “let this user see all course users”.
  7. This privilege can be toggled back and forth.

To add a TA to multiple sections, and limit them to grade only students in their sections:

(The TA must already be enrolled in one section before adding to another section)

  1. In your course, go to People
  2. Find the TA
  3. On the far right of the TA’s line, hover until the gear icon appears, click “Edit Sections”
  4. Click on the grey box to open the dropdown list of sections
  5. Select the additional section (repeat if you want to add multiple sections)
  6. Click “Update”
  7. In the People view, beside the name of your TA, all sections to which they are enrolled will display.
  8. Click on the TA’s name
  9. Click on “more user details”
  10. In “Privileges” click on the settings until “this user can only view students in their assigned course section(s)” displays in black
  • Last updated 9/14/2015
  • © 2017 Colorado State University